known as Khangarh, the town was renamed on 10 November 1852 after General
John Jacob, the Political Superintendent of Upper Sindh. Khangarh, when
he took over its administration in 1847, consisted of simply 'a small mud
fort, three Banya's shops and a well', and it was entirely due to Jacob's
interest and endeavours that by the time he died in December 1858, the town
had been developed, as The Illustrated London News reported, from 'a pathless
silent desert' to 'the large and flourishing town of Jacobabad ... with
bazaars, containing about four hundred well-stocked shops, possessing some
ten thousand inhabitants'.
The house depicted in the illustration had been built by General Jacob for himself and his lieutenants. The published notes to this picture record: 'It is
stated that the piece of ground on which the house inhabited by General Jacob is built, and which has been turned into a beautiful garden was, perhaps, the worst bit in the country; the soil so impregnated with salt that nothing would grow on it. General Jacob had the soil thoroughly remade, for abbut three feet in depth, so that not only have trees flourished well, but every cold season there is a~'fine show of all the English annual plants, and all English vegetables are produced in the greatest perfection. The first tree was planted in 1848, and there are now hundreds of them, many about thirty feet high, and having trunks four feet and more in circumference. The area of the garden is about twenty-five acres.'
By 1876, the building had become known as the Residency. It was described as 'an immense pile' containing a library, workshops, eight suites of apartments in one of which were displayed two clocks made by General Jacob himself. The upper storey of the building was dismantled in 1879.
General Jacob was buried in Jacobabad on 5 December 1858.
|The entry of Sir William Mansfield into Jacobabad, 1865|
|Water tank at Jacobabad, 1878|